China Rally / FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship - Round 8 of 8
26 - 28 November 2005


Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Gr. N
Jussi Välimäki / Mikko Markkula

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution driver Jussi Välimäki took an impressive overall victory on the final round of the 2005 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, the China Rally (November 26-28). And, after a great string of results throughout the season, the Finn claims the Championship title (subject to FIA confirmation), despite not registering for points in this event. In total, eight of the top 10 finishers were driving Lancer Evolutions.

The eighth and final round of the APRC kicked off on Saturday November 26 and finished on Monday November 28. The event was based out of Shaoguan City located in the northern province of Guangdong and took in a total of 661.90 kilometers with 226.21 kilometers of gravel competition. It has been two years since the event was included in the FIA APRC and, although it took place in Guangdong province, the rally started from the city of Shaoguan, in the north. The China Rally doubled as a round of the Chinese National Championship which attracted 38 local drivers.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Gr. N
Jussi Välimäki / Mikko Markkula
Välimäki's entry was devoted to scoring points in the Chinese National Championship, therefore the Finn claimed no points towards the APRC series. However, the event marked the young Finn's third consecutive win, having won in Thailand and Indonesia.

Välimäki competed in a Group N Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution with the highly- experienced "Hong Kee Rally Team", which has contested a number of Chinese National Championship events. He was recruited for this rally by the local team to acquire championship points and succeeded with flying colors by taking an impressive overall victory.

After the ceremonial start on November 26, Välimäki won the 3.88 kilometer opening super special stage and went on to win each of the following day's seven stages to pull out a one minute 4.9 second advantage over Australian driver, Evans. In the second leg, on Monday, Välimäki maintained momentum and claimed another overall victory in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution.


  Driver / Co-driver Nat. Car Gr/Cl Total Time Difference
 Jussi Välimäki / Mikko Markkula FIN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:10:42.0   
 Simon Evans / Sue Evans AUS  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:11:26.4  44.4 
 Hiroshi Yanagisawa / Tadashi Misaizu J  Subaru Impreza N/4 3:13:02.5  2:20.5 
 Xu Lang / Huang Shaojun CN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:16:36.8  5:54.8 
 Chee Hong Kan A / Bernard Chin CN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:19:10.6  8:28.6 
 Zhou Yong / Guo Zheng CN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:24:23.6  13:41.6 
 Huang Weilong / Wang Shaowei CN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:24:43.0  14:01.0 
 Wei Hongjie / Song Hongwei CN  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 3:25:15.2  14:33.2 
 Brian Green A / Fleur PedersenNZ Mitsubishi Lancer EvolutionN/43:28:01.5  17:19.5 
10   Ren Zhiguo / Pan Jian CN  Honda Civic N/2 3:33:45.7  23:03.7
Nationalities: CN=China / IND=India / J=Japan / MAL=Malaysia / NZ=New Zealand /
A: drivers eligible for FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship points