MRF India Rally / FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship - Round 6 of 6
6 December 2004

Five Lancer Evolutions in top six

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Gr. N
Katsuhiko Taguchi / Mark Stacey
(5 December 2004)

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution driver Katsuhiko Taguchi claimed second in the final round of the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, the MRF India Rally, which finished in Pune today. New Zealandís Geof Argyle finished third in similar machinery and no fewer than three other Lancer Evolutions finished in the top six. Taguchi’s team-mate Armin Kremer retired in the second stage of the event, when he went off the road.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Gr. N
Katsuhiko Taguchi / Mark Stacey
(5 December 2004)
The MRF India Rally ran in 2002 in the city of Banglore, but last year moved to historical Pune, approximately 200 kilometers from Mumbai. This year, it remained in the same city, home to some of India’s most ancient monuments, and was scheduled to take in a total of 20 special stages and 232.98 competitive kilometers. The event started on Friday December 3 with a blast around the short 2.5 kilometer super special stage. The real action then kicked off on Saturday when crews tackled another 11 stages and a total of 123.89 competitive kilometers. Sundayís final day of competition took in another eight stages and 109.90 competitive kilometers in a total event route of 987.63 kilometers. In reality however, a number of stages were canceled for safety reasons.

Karamjit Singh, who won the event in 2003, claimed victory and was confirmed as the 2004 APRC Champion after the fifth round of the series in China.


  Driver Co-driver Nat. Car Gr/Cl Total Time Diff.
 Karamjit Singh A  Allen Oh MAL  Proton Pert N/4 2:01:17.5   
 Katsuhiko Taguchi A  Mark Stacey J/AUS  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 2:01:47.3  + 29.8 
 Geof Argyle A  Steve Smith NZ  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 2:06:15.0  + 4:57.5 
 Naren Kumar  D. Ramkumar IND  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 2:10:54.5  + 9:37.0 
 Brian Green A  Fleur Pedersen NZ  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 2:18:54.1  + 17:36.6 
 Dermott Malley A  Patrick Malley NZ  Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution N/4 2:20:46.7  + 19:29.2 
 Young Tae Lim  Ik Sum Eom KOR  Hyundai Tiburon A/7 2:46:56.8  + 45:39.3 
Nationalities: AUS=Australia / IND=India / J=Japan / KOR=Korea / MAL=Malaysia / NZ=New Zealand /
Names underlined followed by A indicate drivers eligible for FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship points